

NOTICE

DIVISIONAL REALIGNMENT OF SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF MISSISSIPPI

On December 20, 2013, the President signed H.R. 2871, Realignment Act of 2013. The Act amends Section 104(b) of title 28, United States Code, to modify the composition of the southern judicial district of Mississippi to read as follows:

(b)

Southern District

- 1. The southern district comprises four divisions.
- (1) The Northern Division comprises the counties of Copiah, Hinds, Holmes, Issaquena, Kemper, Lauderdale, Leake, Madison, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Sharkey, Smith, Warren, and Yazoo.
 - Court for the Northern Division shall be held at Jackson.
- (2) The Southern Division comprises the counties of George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Pearl River, and Stone.
 - Court for the Southern Division shall be held at Gulfport.
- (3) The Eastern Division comprises the counties of Clarke, Covington, Forrest, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lawrence, Marion, Perry, Wayne, and Walthall.
 - Court for the Eastern Division shall be held at Hattiesburg.

(4) The Western Division comprises the counties of Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Franklin, Jefferson, Lincoln, Pike, and Wilkinson.

Court for the Western Division shall be held at Natchez.

In accordance with the Act, the Local Uniform Civil Rules for the Northern and Southern Districts of Mississippi (effective April 30, 2013) have been revised to reflect these changes.

The revised Rules have been posted on the website for both the Northern and Southern Districts of Mississippi.

There is no change in the assignment of judges in existing cases.